Video Demo

Watch Demo Video

Learn what CultureVision is and how to navigate around inside of it.

View Demo

CultureVision Advantage

CultureVision™ can assist your organization in meeting guidelines outlined by the Office of Minority Health National Culturally and Linguistically Appropriate Services (CLAS), National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA), and National Association of Social Workers.

Learn More

Joint Commission Update

The Joint Commission is sharing updates on the development of proposed standards at gatherings of key stakeholders across the U.S.

View Update

CultureVision Ambassadors

Programs now available all across the U.S.

More Information

CultureVision Clients

“CultureVision has allowed us to share well-researched cultural information with all our staff across a wide geographical area. Our staff now have instant access to a tool to improve the services they deliver and they also are reporting that they are more comfortable and confident in their ability to interact with clients from diverse cultures.”
-David Harris, Coordinator of Holistic Recovery & Wellness

See What They Say

The CultureVision Advantage

CultureVision Can Assist in Meeting Standards for Culturally Competent Healthcare

Cultural Competency and Patient Centered Care is the topic of discussion for healthcare organizations today. Our cultural competency trainings and products, specifically CultureVision, are an important part of increasing culturally competent care and patient centered care.

CultureVision™ can assist your organization in meeting guidelines outlined by the Culturally and Linguistically Appropriate Services (CLAS), National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA), and the Standards and Indicators for Cultural Competence in Social Work Practice.

Office of Minority Health

National Standards for Culturally and Linguistically Appropriate Services (CLAS)

Standard 1
Provide effective, equitable, understandable and respectful quality care and services that are responsive to diverse cultural health beliefs and practices, preferred languages, health literacy and other communication needs.

Standard 3
Recruit, promote and support a culturally and linguistically diverse governance, leadership and workforce that are responsive to the population in the service area.

Standard 4
Educate and train governance, leadership and workforce in culturally and linguistically appropriate policies and practices on an ongoing basis.

Standard 9
Establish culturally and linguistically appropriate goals, policies and management accountability, and infuse them throughout the organizations’ planning and operations.

Standard 11
Collect and maintain accurate and reliable demographic data to monitor and evaluate the impact of CLAS on health equity and outcomes and to inform service delivery.

Standard 14
Create conflict- and grievance-resolution processes that are culturally and linguistically appropriate to identify, prevent and resolve conflicts or complaints.

National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA)

The Multicultural Health Care Distinction Standards and Guidelines (2010).

MCH 3 Practitioner Network Cultural Responsiveness: the organization maintains a practitioner network that is capable of serving its diverse membership and is responsive to member needs and preferences.

MCH 4 Culturally and Linguistically Appropriate Services/Programs: the organization continually improves its services to meet the needs of multicultural populations.

MCH 5 Reducing Health Care Disparities: the organization uses race/ethnicity and language data to assess the existence of disparities and to focus quality improvement efforts towards improving the provision of culturally and linguistically appropriate services and decreasing health care disparities.

National Association of Social Workers

Standards and Indicators for Cultural Competence in Social Work Practice (2015).

Standard 3. Cross-Cultural Knowledge: Social workers shall possess and continue to develop specialized knowledge and understanding that is inclusive of, but not limited to, the history, traditions, values, family systems, and artistic expressions such as race and ethnicity; immigration and refugee status; tribal groups; religion and spirituality; sexual orientation; gender identity or expression; social class; and mental or physical abilities of various cultural groups.

Standard 5. Service Delivery: Social workers shall be knowledgeable about and skillful in the use of services, resources, and institutions and be available to serve multicultural communities. They shall be able to make culturally appropriate referrals within both formal and informal networks and shall be cognizant of, and work to address, service gaps affecting specific cultural groups.

Standard 6. Empowerment and Advocacy: Social workers shall be aware of the impact of social systems, policies, practices, and programs on multicultural client populations, advocating for, with, and on behalf of multicultural clients and client populations whenever appropriate. Social workers should also participate in the development and implementation of policies and practices that empower and advocate for marginalized and oppressed populations.

Standard 8. Professional Education: Social workers shall advocate for, develop, and participate in professional education and training programs that advance cultural competence within the profession. Social workers should embrace cultural competence as a focus of lifelong learning.

Standard 9. Language and Communication: Social workers shall provide and advocate for effective communication with clients of all cultural groups, including people of limited English proficiency or low literacy skills, people who are blind or have low vision, people who are deaf or hard of hearing, and people with disabilities (Goode & Jones, 2009).

Standard 10. Leadership to Advance Cultural Competence: Social workers shall be change agents who demonstrate the leadership skills to work effectively with multicultural groups in agencies, organizational settings, and communities. Social workers should also demonstrate responsibility for advancing cultural competence within and beyond their organizations, helping to challenge structural and institutional oppression and build and sustain diverse and inclusive institutions and communities.

Download the PDF version here

Disclaimer: please note that none of the organizations above endorse CultureVision. This information is only provided for insight in how our resource might help you to meet the standards outlined by these organizations.

Social Work Standards for Cultural Competence: